hyperalert to unsafe people

Started by Alice97, July 13, 2016, 01:25:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alice97

I'm wondering if anyone else with PTSD has this same experience. For the majority of my life I have been an expert people-reader, and that skill or curse or whatever it is has only gotten more pronounced with time. By people reading, I mean that I can tell within a minute what someone's mood is and whether they are a "safe" person or not. And most of the time I'm right. Sometimes I do make the mistake of not trusting my gut though and that almost always gets me into trouble. I used to think other people's intentions were obvious to everyone around them, but have discovered that most people I know are "slow" (I don't mean that in a derogatory way) in reading others. For instance, I can tell 3 weeks in advance when my F is covertly brewing and going to blow up. I can tell when he switches from his 1-3 days of superficial happy mode to sullen, angry mode, even though he is still putting on a good front on the outside. I can easily tell when he's lying, hiding something, insecure, manipulating, or playing any of his other narc games. Nobody else seems to see it until he is obviously raging. The same goes for other people I'm around.

So my question is, is it typical of PTSD to become an expert at reading people? I feel like I'm constantly scanning people to see if they are "safe" and how I should act around them. One of my biggest flaws is adapting according to who I'm around and how "safe" I read them to be, but anyways... Does anyone else's PTSD cause this? Is is hypervigilance or intuition or what?? Sometimes I wish I was a little slower. I hate seeing the bad in toxic people and not being able to do or say anything about it because they are good at faking goodness with their actions.  :fallingbricks:

Three Roses