Fear of Sleep

Started by Rain12, February 06, 2017, 08:08:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rain12

Hello everyone.

I hope I'm posting this in the right board -- this is my first time here so this is all new to me. I was diagnosed with C-PTSD three months ago.

I have a lifelong problem with sleep. As a small child I had a hard time falling asleep. The only way I could fall asleep was by doing a progressive muscle relaxation exercise. My body was always "tense." But somehow I hated doing that excercise and was afraid of the moment of going to sleep, when I'd have to turn off my distraction-daydreams and actually be "here". Because the moment of falling asleep requires being present first. I have many bad memories of waiting for hours for sleep to come, alone in the dark. When I got older, I'd sneak a flashlight in so I could read.

As I got older, I developed the strategy of reading (or later, going online) till I was so tired I would not be able to keep my eyes open anymore. Then I could fall asleep without having to think about it or confront the actual experience of being "present." Of course, this meant I was always tired, never sleeping till the point of exhaustion.

For years, family blamed me for being lazy in the morning and for "choosing to go to bed late." I blamed myself. It wasn't until within the last two years that I realized this wasn't my fault. I still feel very guilty about some parts of it.

This issue is so severe it's taken over my life.

I'm afraid of sleeping. Or maybe I'm afraid of lying down and turning off the light.

In the past year I've figured some things out. I am more ok sleeping with some light in the room (so I'm not reminded of the horrible abandoned times as a child, and so that I don't feel like I'm stuck there with no way out, and so I can see any potential attackers coming). If I can see out a window and have a wall at my back, I feel safer.