Intrusive Thoughts and Physical Sensations from CSA

Started by audrey73, August 06, 2017, 11:15:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

audrey73

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting to this forum. I've been in therapy for, basically, my entire life, but only in trauma therapy for a few months. I am dealing with childhood sexual abuse for the first time (and have a history of both cptsd/ptsd). Currently in EMDR/SE, and about to start SE Touch. Even though I know (intellectually) that the CSA is over, I'm wondering how long intrusive thoughts and sensations last? I know this is different for everyone, but I find myself judging myself that I am still experiencing the feelings, thinking I should be over this by now.

so great to be apart of this site!

Dee

I am only now addressing my trauma in therapy.  For me it has been a lifetime of intrusive thoughts and sensations.  I think it isn't a matter of how long it last and when we should be over it.  I think it is more of how helpful therapy is.  I know without therapy it isn't over.  There isn't a time that we should be over it by.  Without help, it festers and grows.  Each year it only seems to get worse.  The older I get and the less I am active the worse it is.  When my kids were young I was distracted by their needs, that isn't the case now.  Time doesn't heal all wounds.  We have to address it and work on it.  I think there is no getting over it we learn how to go on and deal with it.

audrey73

Thanks so much Dee for your response. I am having moments of reprieve from the symptoms, and then other days where I feel like I'm drowning in an abyss of symptoms. I  am trying  to remain hopeful, a moment at a time.

Andyman73

My guess would be that these things fall away when we pass. Just as the WWII Veterans do, their combat and POW experiences still haunt them 75 years later.