How do you communicate a trigger?

Started by Alarrah, September 05, 2017, 11:27:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alarrah

Something happened today. I was having an anxiety attack, and I started painting to relieve stress. When I was done, I went to show my husband. He looked at it for about a second and said "good. I like it," then went back to work.

This shouldn't have set me off, but every moment of frustration rolled back to me from when I would try to show my parents something I was proud of. I heard them, not him. It made me flip. I have been crying ever sense, and I know it's dumb. I know this isn't his fault, but I feel horrible.

So my question, how should I have handled this? How do I tell him that his response sent me into a spiral. I'm so low right now. He's gone for the night, and I am still freaking out. What should I have done?

Three Roses

:hug: No one can tell you what you "should" have done. For me, recovery means recognizing everyone has different needs and abilities, and we are all on a journey but no one has arrived.

It is my responsibility to care for my own emotions, no one else's. When I am hurt, I have to examine the individual instance. Is it a pattern of behavior on someone's part that I need to look at? Do I need to re-evaluate the relationship? Or do I need to look within for the answer; is it bringing into focus some work I need to do on a past experience? Is it a subject for therapy?

It is impossible for others to act in such a way that we would never be hurt by any of their behaviors. Just the other day I was deeply triggered by my husband's actions when he became frustrated with a project he was working on. But, he has the freedom to express his emotions as much as I do!

I truly hope this helps you. Big hugs to you, and thanks for posting! I think this is an important question and I'm looking forward to reading others' responses.
:heythere:

sigiriuk

Hi