Sceal's Journal

Started by Sceal, September 21, 2017, 07:06:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sceal

Sceal

Sceal

Three Roses

Our brains are really fascinating! I'm no expert but I've read that trauma affects how our memories are stored. For instance, an EF happens when we are triggered by something; very often, we are not even aware of the stimulus triggering us. It can be something easily recognizable, like someone yelling, or something much more difficult to recognize, like the particular feel of a day or the way sunlight hits a surface. The emotional flashback, otherwise known as an amygdala hijack, happens in part of the brain that handles incoming danger signals, and is reacted to there before the stimulus reaches the part of the brain responsible for conscious thought.

Memories of traumatic events are sometimes processed by the brain and stored in the memory as if they are current events instead of in the past.

I know I sound like a broken record about this book, The Body Keeps The Score, but it's so good and so validating. Audio version on YouTube part 1 https://youtu.be/EKjBM6MxTKg part 2 https://youtu.be/KSo699qcHfQ

Sceal

Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts with me.

Blueberry

Quote from: Sceal on September 22, 2017, 05:13:00 PM
It is very fascinating in one way, although incredible painful.

I'm with you there. I find it fascinating, but wish it had nothing to do with me! OTOH I probably never would have found out about it if I weren't involved so to speak.

I have been reading some of your posts, Sceal, including bits of your Journal here, but I'm not always able to answer or respond in any way. Want to let you know though that I hear and see you.  :hug:

Sceal

Quote from: Blueberry on September 22, 2017, 11:42:41 PM
I have been reading some of your posts, Sceal, including bits of your Journal here, but I'm not always able to answer or respond in any way. Want to let you know though that I hear and see you.  :hug: