EMDR treatment - how long?

Started by NotSoSupergirl, September 25, 2017, 03:19:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NotSoSupergirl

Hi all,

I started treatment with EMDR 2.5 years ago, and I have an EMDR session of 1.5h every two weeks. The other weeks in between I have a normal session of 45min. I've made a lot of progress in those 2.5 years, but the last months my PTSD had gotten a lot worse. Is it possible that EMDR deteriorates PTSD symptoms? Does anyone else have experience with EMDR treatment of multiple years?

Thanks in advance!

sanmagic7

hi, nssg,

i am an emdr therapist, so i know a bit about the process.  my guess would be that as long as you're making progress, it's doing well for you.  as far as emdr deteriorating symptoms, i'm not sure about that because i haven't had that experience.  if i were you, i'd talk to my t about those concerns.  it may be that some core stuff is coming up, which can be more difficult for the mind to process, or that what you're working on needs to slow down a bit because you're having a harder time adjusting to changes.

letting your t know about this could give him/her a heads up that something else is going on besides the type of processing you've experienced in the past, and s/he can make adjustments in your approach accordingly.  best to you with this.  i'd be interested to know what becomes of it, if you'd care to share.    :hug:

EliseB

Hi, I wanted to ask if there is a specific amount of time that EMDR should be done for? I did it for PTSD symptoms for only a few months, and was starting to feel a lot better so I'm going back to previous therapy methods since then. Sometimes I wonder if I could have gotten more out of it? I felt like it was really helpful, so should I have done more, or is there such a thing as too much EMDR?