Just some things I need to share (Possible triggers)

Started by Phoenix1392, March 15, 2018, 04:34:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Phoenix1392

First and foremost - thank you for welcoming me so warmly to this forum.
I'm still fairly new and it's quite a relief finding somewhere I feel that I belong and can be understood without harsh judgment.
I post in the Development in Adulthood portion because although I have some traumatic childhood experiences that lead to where I am now - I feel as though the trauma that I experienced in my adulthood is what really set all of what I go through and feel each day is what set it all in concrete.

I'm a firm believer in the idea that everything happens for a reason. If I don't believe that, then everything that I have seen and been through would have been for nothing.
I struggle daily with anxiety, intrusive thoughts, fluctuating sleep patterns, crying-spells, dissociation, etc. And on occasion - because of these things - I tend to experience depression (especially when a triggering event happens.)
Recently, I fought my way out of a deep depression after losing someone very important to me in my life and had just begun to be some sort of semblance of myself again. I was truly enjoying things in life and feeling incredibly positive.

And then it happened.
What happened to me in my adulthood happened to a girl younger than I am that I know. And she has confided in me. She reaches out to me when she is feeling the way that I sometimes do because I made sure she knew that I am a safe place and that I understand what she might be going through.
I truly believe that helping others helps me. That I went through these things to help other people when they go through them because I made it out alive and I didn't lose myself entirely.
However, it also has me experiencing major setbacks. Making my whole body hurt. And making me sick.