In a constant emotional flashback

Started by Bluejerrie, March 27, 2018, 08:35:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bluejerrie

I understand from my therapist and from what I've read, that the first stage of cptsd treatment is safety and stabilisation. The problem for me here is that I never feel safe, because I am in a permanently triggered state. This is due to me having severe emetophobia (fear of vomiting) and I am constantly terrified that my 3 year old will vomit at any time. He has had two stomach bugs recently and this has left me unable to function.

How am I ever going to achieve safety and stabilisation when I am constantly triggered? I am very dissociated and foggy most of the time.  Grounding techniques don't work for me and I have tried yoga and relaxing in the bath and mindfulness, etc. I have been working so hard at this all for three years and cannot seem to get out of this state. I cannot get away from my trigger as he is my dependant son. How am I ever going to get out of this?!

Thanks for reading if you've got this far.

Dee

I don't have any advice but I do want to send you a hug.   :hug:

Blueberry

I remember asking myself things like "How am I ever going to manage this or that??" while tears poured down my face. Eventually though these questions stopped coming and I stopped feeling so overwhelmed. Idk if this is the answer in your case, but in mine at some point or other the therapy and all my work started to work and I managed to stop being constantly so worried about the future.

Healing takes a long time for many of us here, maybe especially for those of us who were/are in non-trauma-informed care?? But even if you are in trauma-informed care, it still can take a good long while till you start to really notice a difference.

Idk if any of this is helpful for you. If a hug feels safe, here is a   :hug: too

DecimalRocket