celebrity deppression island

Started by jamesG.1, June 09, 2018, 12:00:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jamesG.1

If I see one more person post a "be aware of depression and suicide" on facebook after this two celebrity deaths I'll scream. Too many of these people have actively avoided me in my crisis, and they knew full well what I was going through. Clearly if I was a fashion designer then my phone would be red hot.

rant over

Rainagain

I've heard of a thing called white knighting.

If I understand the expression it means signalling you are a great person by making some easy to do statement, I think there's another expression ' virtue signalling' which is another way to describe empty vapid claims of being decent.

That's what is irritating, its just empty words signifying nothing at all.

The reason people do it might be that they don't realise how pointless it is, how transparent it is.

We may be full of anxiety and struggles with our demons but at least we aren't empty shells making pointless sounds.

I appear to have gone off on one here, I think its something that annoys me.....!

Snookiebookie

My opinion is that it's considered fashionable to post these things.  I wonder how many will think that way in a week, month or year. Or whether they've move on on with the band wagon to the next cause. It's virtue signalling, for sure.

..... Sorry, I'm very cynical. 

Gromit

On Twitter there are also people trying to explain how it is not that easy for people to 'just talk' 'tell someone',  but, yes, there will be those who virtue signal and say how they look out for people.