Started by feyre24, June 17, 2018, 01:17:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

feyre24

This is my first time posting on OOTS. My therapist recommended finding an online community of people, because I've been feeling really isolated and like no one understands what goes on in my head.

I believe I developed CPTSD in childhood and that I experienced CSA, but I do not remember the details of what happened to me. I've always been extremely anxious, depressed, and "emotional."

There was more CSA by a relative whose family I had gone to live with. Meanwhile, my grandfather, who was one of my best friends, passed away. I believe that was when my abuser started grooming me. This continued up until adulthood when I moved away for college.

Now I am in grad school (which has its own challenges and stresses) and some memories are starting to come back. Being taken to a park and yelled at when I didn't want to take off my clothes for the camera. A dissociated memory of seeing myself being sexually assaulted on the college campus where I did undergrad. Along with the CSA was a lot of narcissistic and emotional abuse. This abuse now takes the form of a voice in my head that criticizes everything I say and do, making it hard to complete my day to day grad school work and hard to let myself enjoy time with my partner and any down time I get as a full time student.

I've been diagnosed with CPTSD and trauma-related dissociation. Due to the nature of my abuse, I feel numb and separate from my body. I was often body shamed by my abuser and my extended family. Even though I have made the decision to be estranged from most of my family, I still continue to have panic attacks and feel as though I am worthless.