UGH, HATE EFs!!

Started by Healing Finally, August 16, 2017, 07:33:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Healing Finally

HI all,  :wave:

Now I know, when I'm acting super anxious, defensive, confused, frustrated, and feel the need to point out all the wrongs in the world; I am having an Emotional Flashback.  I am so grateful to know that this is a phase and it will pass.  I have literally lived in EFs for months if not years, and it's only been recent that I've been able to recognize when I'm NOT living in an EF.

I can get triggered at work a LOT, and THEN I can get into trouble.  Which I just did.  I work in IT and when I see a process that isn't working, I want to address it.  I have a way of putting people on the spot when I don't mean to.  I'm just trying to fix something that's not right.  But, my tone can be too direct and I offend people.  They don't know what to do with me!  My supervisor thinks what I'm doing is just fine as he's happy to have a worker that cares enough to address the issues (vs ignoring them) so my job isn't on the line, but my co-workers are distant with me.

I KNOW it's the way I handle myself as I'm already feeling defensive and frustrated and this comes out in my communication.  If I wasn't in an EF, I wouldn't be so demanding or authoritative; as this is not my general nature.  So then when I get a backlash of annoyance from my coworkers I feel guilty and get down on myself.  So now I'm stuck between feeling justified for pointing something out and bad for doing it.

I imagine the best thing to do is just regroup when I'm feeling this way, lay low, keep quiet and do something mundane.  I'm still trying to figure out HOW TO MAKE IT STOP...sigh, thanks for listening... :hug:

P.S. Also sharing that I know I'm in an EF because as soon as I leave work I want to go home and go to bed...

Blueberry