Emotions about CPTSD Diagnosis

Started by Ayisha, November 15, 2018, 04:45:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ayisha

I am new to Out of the Storm. I am hoping to share my experiences and opinions about CPTSD with other sufferers. I'm sure we could relate to each other's situations and perhaps share ideas about how to improve our day to day lives.
Below is one of a number of definitions that pertain to CPTSD.

C-PTSD is generally until now, known as a psychotic condition known to veterans of war, but thankfully more recent studies prove that this condition is prevalent in lay-persons who have also suffered an event or events that have transformed their persona, their person in its entirety. 
(Unknown source)
I was diagnosed with Complex Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (C-PTSD), when I was 55 years old. Why I couldn't have just plain PTSD is beyond me, mine had to be the complex kind, the incurable kind. After I was diagnosed with C-PTSD (which I had never heard of before), I started researching about the condition. I was desperate for information and answers.

I was shocked; I was astonished to find that the information on the internet read like it had been written about me. I could see myself in every word on every page! My heart stopped beating; there was no blood in my veins, as the words exploded in my brain.