My stubborn survival and the quest to gain hope

Started by Liliuokalani, March 20, 2015, 11:36:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Liliuokalani

Hello all. I'm from the Out of the Fog forum as I'm sure many of you are. I was so scared to make my first post on the previous site and a lot less apprehensive on this one, because I have gotten so much love and support since I joined. I am a medical school student. My journey has been very tough, because for the longest time I had a lot of anxiety and depression and didn't even realize it until I took a survey our psychiatry professor suggested we give to psychiatry patients and scored extremely high levels of anxiety and moderate levels of depression. This started a somewhat painful journey of self discovery that has ultimately granted me freedom, my one major desire in life.

I struggled a lot, I failed some medical school classes and struggled to keep grades up, and I couldn't figure out why, I have always been quite smart, sorry if I sound narcissistic. I have many weaknesses, but intelligence in not one of them. I'm also painfully shy at times, never really want to leave my apartment if I can help it, and believe strongly in the healing power of cats. I discovered my struggles and shyness were a result of my mom having undiagnosed borderline personaity disorder, as discovered by me and my therapist that I finally gathered the courage to seek out. We discovered my tainted past, the years of manipulation and abuse I was never even aware of. I just spent most of my life feeling that I was horribly flawed, and not of much value. My first boyfriend also most likely had uBPD, along with a few other boyfriends after. I am a victim of emotional abuse, physical abuse, all of which were mostly covert, and sometimes overt. Covert in my opinion is almost worse. No one on the outside sees the pain you go through, and when you explain they usually leave the conversation in doubt and disbelief.