TW - Social isolation and understanding "love"

Started by ellachimera, May 05, 2019, 05:43:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ellachimera

I have been taught that love is something that has to hurt, that being loved meant being abused and that forgiveness was a major quality.

I have not been given that  love and forgiveness back, I mean I was told I was loved but the acts of the parent who said that were abusive, extremely traumatic and downright evil - from manipulation to emotional and physical abuse, to forceful isolation, neglect and ignoring the sexual abuse that was going on under her own eyes. I am just beginning to become aware of the fact that was on the back of my head for all of these years - that this wasn't love.

I bore the burden of my own trauma and the resulting personality malformations and sadness plus the ongoing interaction with the abuser throughout my early adulthood. I never made real friends as a result.

I am in my mid-thirties and starting to figure out, with my small family, what love, trust and stability mean. I'm writing this in order to remind myself that no, no matter how often I heard that declaration after being beaten or while I was being manipulated by my mother - no, I have never had these things growing up.

Were you told you were loved by the abuser? How did that affect your perception of love? Do you think that this might explain why we struggle understanding and nurturing offers of friendship and love in our later life? Or, even, do you think you are not getting those offers, if you are socially isolated, or is it that you simply don't recognize them or you can't cope with them? I am doing the second bit, I can't nurture positive emotions from others, I freak out and bury everything in dark thoughts, sometimes even blurt some of those thoughts out and estrange people who might otherwise like my personality.

woodsgnome