Letters To My Family

Started by Bach, June 23, 2019, 03:06:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bach

I have been on very minimal contact with my mother for the past four years, seeing her only once a year at a holiday dinner hosted by my brother, answering her occasional email invitation to visit her with a polite but firm refusal, and not initiating any contact whatsoever myself.  I am no spring chicken and my mother is getting very old now.  At this past holiday dinner, I found myself feeling sentimental towards her and wishing once again to have some kind of mother-daughter relationship with her.  This is a self-destructive urge of which I am a long-term veteran, but somehow I had the idea that this time I could be in control of it, and that it could benefit my therapy, so I made a vague overture earlier this year.  Her response was suitably cautious and respectful, and for a minute, I actually thought I could do it, but then I thought about it more carefully, and the idea of spending time with her was terrifying. 

I spoke about it at length with my trusted people, and determined that even the thought of a phone call panicked me.  Still, though, the desire for some kind of interaction has not gone away.  In addition to that, my sense of fairness and my understanding that a lot of what's wrong with my mother has similar root causes to what's wrong with me compels me to feel uncomfortable with the idea of doing something to her that she so often did to me both literally and metaphorically -- offering something, but then either snatching it away when I reached for it, or giving me something different and expecting me to be grateful to get anything at all.  So I've written this letter in hopes of...Whatever it is that I'm hoping for.  I'm not even sure.  I would love to get some feedback, so any comments would be appreciated.

Dear Mom,