blackaltis07's journal

Started by blackaltis07, November 20, 2017, 04:45:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

blackaltis07

Well it's all (finally) over! I saw my therapist and told her how worked up over my grades becoming available at the end of this week and she suggested waiting until after the holiday to look at them just in case the news was bad and it spoiled my Christmas. I ran this idea past my wife and she assured me that whether or not I passed that class or not whether or not I finished my associate's degree or not, she was proud of me and that I did not need to worry about her being upset. The only thing I needed to worry about was my own reaction. That made me feel better about things so I went to bed last night and got the best night's sleep I've gotten in quite a while.

I checked my grades around noon today, and even though they weren't supposed to be posted until midnight tonight, they were there. And I passed everything! This means that I have my degree, and I can move on to the four year school next month knowing that I have that achievement under my belt. And now I have something extra special to be proud of myself about this holiday, as earning this degree took every ounce of strength that I had and had even quite literally sent me to the psych ward.

The funny thing is, that even though I've been very much relieved all day, I feel like there's a hole where the anxiety has been for so long. I don't know how else to describe it. I'm beyond grateful for the relief, but this feeling of something being missing is so odd. Perhaps another good night of sleep will get rid of it.

Yay!

Three Roses

Blueberry

sanmagic7

congrats on quite an accomplishment!  yay, you!      :applause:

and what a wonderful attitude your wife had about it all.  kudos to her as well.

i think that anxiety hole will pass with time as you become more comfortable with knowing what you've done.   big hug to you.

DecimalRocket