Hello - maybe triggers

Started by hugo, March 16, 2015, 08:14:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hugo

Hello all

I have known I have CPTSD for probably 2 years now.  I figured it out through internet research and also in doing what I do for a living (that being a criminal defense lawyer).  I have done a lot of death penalty work and read extensively in preparing for trial in cases where my clients were severely neglected or abused.

I am one of the ones who has discounted the abuse story.  My folks divorced when I was 4.  My father was non-existent except when I visited him during the summer.  My mother was a freak-show-mean drunk who married another almost like her.  In my house there was screaming and door-slamming, but no outright sexual or physical abuse.  I guess if I had to really just capture the essence of it, I would say my mother just hated men.  And she was the only one in the house who was not a male (animals included).  She would go on rants about how rotten men are.  It was strange.

In my house, mainly because of my step-father, work was the ticket to respectability.  I started working when I was nine.  I started drinking when I was 11.  I started using drugs when I was 13.  I was always high-functioning, though.  Fortunately I never got busted.  I made it through the Army, college and law school with flying colors.  I have now been sober for 25 years and have a wife of 20 years and two children who have grown up very differently than I did.

My first introduction to mental heath treatment was rehab at 25.  It was there that I first found out that my childhood had issues.  I really didn't know how crazy it was until then.  It would be several more years before I learned the extent to which it damaged me.  Still, I catch myself minimizing it because it was light on outright physical abuse.