What happens when you outgrow therapy but you're still not ok?

Started by rebelsue, August 30, 2019, 02:45:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rebelsue

I feel like saying "I'm not going to go to therapists anymore." is blasphemy in most mental health support communities. "See a professional" is often default advice everywhere. And I actually am not fighting this as a general rule.

I really have worn myself out on therapy. I don't trust therapists anymore. I've been going for over 20 years and I feel like I have heard everything. I've even done the "new" modalities like DBT, CBT, and EMDR. DBT helped a lot but I graduated from it and whenever I go back for re-ups, it's usually telling me things I already knew. My experience with EMDR was terrible and same with CBT. Don't feel like explaining it. It was not the typical "walking through bad memories is hard" stuff. It was actual stuff with therapists misunderstanding me and thinking I am a bad person.

I can't go anymore. It ends up being a waste of money for a variety of reasons. If I have a flashback, a time when I really really  need help and compassion, I have to make an appointment or i have a routine weekly one that never lines up with the flashback, and by the time I get there it's over and now we just discuss how to damage control everything the flashback did to my life. If I talk about how i REALLY feel with them, they freak out. If I  mention suicide in particular they never try to help me work through the feelings and not feel suicidal anymore. They just start talking about going inpatient or calling the police. Inpatient doesn't help  because it rips you out of the life you're trying to cope with, making things worse because you end up disappearing without any warning, and then you just sit around all day and color and do group therapy with people who have two year degrees at best and treat you like a five year old.