do you experience the same?

Started by suffersilence, May 07, 2019, 03:11:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

suffersilence

I grew up in a very strict household, over protective and strict mom, passive father. I grew up very afraid and always do everything what my mom wanted.  I also worked as a peacemaker for years to help keep the house calm.  (I am keeping it simple but if you have questions, I am happy to explain more) Eventually I graduated from high school, and seized the opportunity to go to USA for university as a way to escape the toxicity of my home. But unfortunately, it was then I realized that I do not know who I am and don't know what is my ambitions or goals.

So I spent quite a long time trying to find out what do I want to do with my life, what to do with my career plans.  Now Im approaching midlife and I am still stuck.  My questions for everyone, and I did ask my counsellor but it seems my counsellor is stumped or not willing to help me work through my struggles.  Do you find yourself feeling trapped (doing the same thing over and over, in your mind, struggling to figure out but going no where.)  And Do you find yourself feeling like give up because you spent so long in your whole life fighting (fighting to keep peace, fighting your own self, fighting co workers or boss for respect, fighting to get what you want.)  I talked with my friend and he said that I should not give up. but right now I feel fought out and just want to have peace and quiet. no more fighting, but I know I have to fight in order to get what I want (career wise, as I just graduated college with a diploma in automotive mechanics).

Plumb tuckered out.

Suffering in silence.

Not Alone

Glad you are not being silent right now and that you are talking to us.
Quote from: suffersilence on May 07, 2019, 03:11:01 AM