So Very Unmotivated

Started by Rrecovery, March 27, 2015, 03:22:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rrecovery

I've been recovering for 30 years.  Here are some stats:
Have no one in my life who mistreats me.  Have work I enjoy and am good at.  Clean and sober.  Trim and fit.  Live in a beautiful, affordable place. Am respected and welcomed by everyone I know.

Here's the problem:  I feel SO unmotivated!!!  I continue to live out healthy habits, but I have to push myself every step of the way.  I don't WANT to do anything.  I have finally stopped chasing boys (at 56) and I am just being with myself, being mindful.  I am seeing that I have no enthusiasm, interest or motivation to do anything.  My mood is up and down - not too far up or too far down.  Even when it's up - I have to push myself to do anything and every thing.  Ugh!

Here's what I think I know about this:  My parents never appreciated life, work, the mundane.  They did what had to be done and then indulged in rest/food/cigarettes (mom) or sports (dad).  I see now that I have lived in a very similar way - do what you "have" to do so you can indulge in... boys/sex, sports.  My knees became unable to keep up with my sport in November and physical therapy did not help.  I can no longer be an athlete :(    As far as boys/sex, I have become very particular about who I'm with so it's mostly nobody.  Besides, I don't want to use anybody as an "antidepressant."  Apart from these "peak" experiences I see that I have no real interested in life, just like my parents, even after 30 years of strong recovery.