The effect of hyper vigilance

Started by Gromit, December 03, 2019, 06:35:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gromit

Does anyone else get like this:

I threw myself headlong into the task of really looking at my issues. You could say I was hypervigilant about trauma recovery, and you wouldn't be wrong. I found a trauma-informed therapist and started EMDR therapy. I read all of the books. I joined online groups. I researched. I studied. Did I mention I was hypervigilant? https://somethingtosayafterabusecom.com/2018/08/18/ten-tools-for-trauma-survivors/

Is it a distraction from feeling? An obsession? I have been like this about climate change recently, it has just got me panicking.

Luckily I am doing some training which included meditation and lots of good yoga practices which is helping. Re-reading the blog it just struck me. I also happened to mention my feelings of responsibility to a fellow traveller at ACA and they concurred, having recently been in a country with different recycling habits, they felt guilty.

I was curious about the way the blog linked hyper vigilance with obsessively studying etc. Can anyone explain the link? Perhaps I should just ask on the blog.

G

Rainagain

Not sure if it's the same but I can get very focussed and perfectionist about things, a bit obsessive.

Something has to be quite important before I get into that condition, usually my life is totally disorganised.

grace4

Hi!