Parentification programming

Started by Widdiful Falling, April 02, 2015, 01:26:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Widdiful Falling

As I read threads here, and on ootf, I've begun to realize that reading stories about what parents will not do for their kids triggers guilt in me. I realized just now, that it's because I feel bad for not doing those things for my mother. I feel bad for not taking care of my parent.  :doh:

I think this is a big step for me. The realization that I am actually younger than my parents, even though I don't act it. Shouldn't they be the responsible ones? The ones with drivers' licenses, and steady work, and comfort for their children?

I need to stop comparing my relationship with my M to others', especially because in our relationship, the roles are reversed. I hear about mom's sending gifts and money to their daughters, and I immediately feel guilty because I haven't done this for my M. I'm just starting out. There's no way I have enough disposable income to support myself, and her.

The way the expectation that I'm going to take care of her is there, too, gives me pause. Of course I would have no problem taking care of her in old age. But she is an able-bodied individual. I shouldn't have to parent her.

It makes me wonder if anyone else who is NC feels the same way. Or what other subtle (or not-so-subtle, as it were) signs of parentification I'm missing.

C.