What to do when my best seems never enough, and I just want to give up?

Started by LucySnowe, March 15, 2020, 12:50:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LucySnowe

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this and not sure I'm doing it right. I tend to write a lot. I'll try to keep this somewhat brief (that didn't work out  :doh:).

I just upended my life—or what little, unstable life I had begun to establish in a new place, where after a few months it wasn't working out—and impulsively drove across the country to start again somewhere else, in a climate where I hoped my physical illness would be better supported. But part of that move also had to do with things falling apart in the 12-step group I'd begun attending in that other town, and the job I'd started there. Truly, though, I was unable to find safe housing for my environmental condition and had ended up living in my car, so it felt like there was little left to lose in relocating.

So now I'm on the road (and on the run) again, and feel I've lost the support and understanding of two close allies, on whose support and friendship I had been relying. And now I'm having suicide ideation again. I don't think it's anything serious—I've never been willing or able to actually hurt myself, and don't believe that (serious ideation) is a feature of my particular disorder. But it definitely feels like life doesn't work for me: I'm exhausted, depleted, in pain, and without connections or prospects. I'm heading today to a new town where I don't know anyone, don't have a job or place to stay, and now, with the recent loss of these two allies, feel quite hopeless and discouraged about making a new start. I had been hopeful, but now it feels like I'm just back in the same old place.  :fallingbricks: