Lost Relationship

Started by madison27, April 23, 2015, 05:30:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

madison27

Hello,

This is my first time on this forum, and I'm so glad I found it. I struggled with chronic health problems from ages 13-17, and was often hospitalized/afraid. During this period of time, several of my close family members became severely ill with one chronic illness or another, and I felt a complete loss of trust in my own physical, emotional, and financial well-being. In college, I was in an abusive situation, and felt unable to remove myself from the situation due to a lack of funds to transfer colleges.

I am currently in a much more positive environment, and feel like I have the opportunity to explore my own talents and passions again. I have made some wonderful friends and generally my relationships are very positive. At the beginning of this year, I felt so overwhelmed by all of the peace that I felt from not having a chronic illness or being in an abusive situation, and I felt more hopeful about my life than I have in ten years (I am now 23). I started graduate school in a field that I love, and surrounded myself with activities that I have always enjoyed but been too sick to complete regularly, such as running and sailing. I began a new, wonderful relationship with a guy whom I respect very much. It started wonderfully, and it felt very healthy (e.g., not co-dependent) and I was filled with a genuine care for this person that I haven't felt for anyone to date. We share very similar world views/beliefs, as well as similar hobbies and passions. I was honestly surprised that I had found someone who so closely aligned with what I have always held very dear to my heart.