Hi from Rrecovery

Started by Rrecovery, September 21, 2014, 09:30:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rrecovery

Hello,

I have been working on my healing and recovery for 30 years.  A month ago I was diagnosed with CPTSD.  The diagnosis has helped to clarify a great deal – especially why my recovery has been such a long and complex process – and I am still not "there."

"There" for me is the tipping point in my recovery when life feels like it is "worth" living, i.e. less suffering and despair and more peace, joy, happiness and connection.  I don't remember having a will to live, but I am willing to live and curious just how far I can take my recovery and if I can actually get "there."

My stats are: mother BPD with Narcissistic features, dad Schizoid PD with Narcissistic features.  The "social skills" I was "taught" were atrocious.  I was the most hated kid in school – elementary through junior high.  The summer before high school I started smoking pot and when I got to high school the stoners let me "party" with them; it was an immense relief. (I was a stoner for 17 years)

First husband was a Sociopath, the second a Narcissist (left him after 2 months).  My third husband is a good man who has Asperger's.  We were married 18 years.  The lack of warmth, empathy and emotional availability was traumatizing for me throughout the marriage.  We ended our marriage 3 years ago.  It was devastating and tragic because we were great together in so many ways and he was willing to get help, but alas at his age his Asperger's prevented the necessary changes.  I was physically ill my entire marriage (I have a somatitization disorder).  Staying with him was literally killing me.  I divorced a good man who I love to save my life.  So now I find myself single at 55.