Need Help Thinking Through Startling

Started by buddy9832, June 10, 2020, 03:23:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

buddy9832

Hi guys,

I think I need help processing something and I'm curious what your thoughts are. I startle fairly easy. When my dog barks, a doorbell rings, an unexpected noise, my wife hugs me from behind, etc. I startle. Usually these follow by rage which takes a minute to subside.

I've been trying to figure out why I startle and I've been tracing it back through my life. Since I've know my wife (about 10 years) I've startled when she hugs me or touches me when I don't anticipate something happening.  Tracing it further back I recall that whenever I would play drums, I could hit the snare drum and be fine. If my drum teacher hit it I would flinch. Even if I was actively thinking about it and trying to stop myself from flinching, it would still happen. I started playing drums when I was in second grade and this has happened as long as I can remember. I never really paid attention to it because I thought it was nothing. Now I think it might be a clue to my past and cPTSD.

What's your take on it? Do you think it's nothing and I'm over analyzing it or  it is all related? What would this mean? Is this indicative of child abuse or could emotional neglect do the same thing?

owl25

Hi buddy, I have the startle response as well. I don't go into a rage but I do sometimes get quite angry when it's a strong startle response, when something is really unexpected. I used to be surprised that I had this given that my history is mainly emotional neglect and I couldn't understand why sudden loud noises or sudden touch would startle me, as there is nothing specific in my past that I could link it to. I have come to understand this is a symptom of hypervigilance that comes with CPTSD. We are always on guard and on the watch for unexpected things happening. I think emotional neglect does do the same thing, I feel like this is the case for me.

buddy9832