Introducing Myself

Started by Jack01, October 13, 2020, 08:30:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jack01

I am new to OOTS and glad I found this site. I have been dealing with CPTSD symptoms probably longer than I realize. I am also a recovering Alcoholic with 31 years sobriety. I know my symptoms have been with me for a while but about 20 years ago my Mother was diagnosed with ALZ and I began experiencing depression, anxiety, anger outbursts etc. I went to my doctor and was diagnosed with Depression and anxiety. He prescribed anti-depressants and Xanax. Being responsible for my mothers well being was a full enough job but running a business at the same time was exhausting. I do have a sister but her own alcoholism almost killed her and she wasn't much help. I have finally gotten my mother into a skilled nursing facility which is a short drive away. After selling the business I went back to teaching. I am certified to teach special education students K-12. My last assignment, which I really wanted, was as a teacher in a day school attached to a Children's and Adolescent Acute Psychiatric Unit. run by the local school district. I quickly learned that I might be a CPTSD survivor and began seeing a therapist. He helped some but working with these children I soon discovered that no matter the doctor's diagnosis there was usually a traumatic past involved. I ran my class as a Trauma Informed Learning Environment. That worked well until we were put under the direction a different Department whose .airperson knew little to nothing about working in an acute psychiatric unit. Her only concern was that I follow the district's curriculum guide and have NO lessons which involved letting the students tell their stories and then relating it back to the science of their bodies. I did the lesson anyway. The admin who was observing was furious. This was just before Thanksgiving. When I walked to the office to try and talk to her I saw her through the Principals glass door. Her back