TW: Rage Blackouts

Started by DogMan, November 29, 2022, 11:46:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DogMan

Trigger Warning

I am becoming more aware of my history of rage blackouts

People will confront me, after a social event. And say that I was violent. I am honest when I say that I don't remember that, I know we had lunch, but I thought it was peaceful

Then, years later I get flashbacks and realise that yes, I did break his ribs etc

I've mentioned this to medical officers at the hospital, case managers and psychologist. I'm hoping to engage with the subject more when I ask psychologist about Structural Dissociation on the 13th

Papa Coco

Dogman,

Wow. I'm sorry to hear. That must be kind of unnerving to find out you are having blackouts that can hurt others and/or yourself. 

I have heard of it. Back in the 1990s, when "Multiple Personality Disorder" was the rage in the psychological world, I worked as a volunteer on a rape victim hotline. I had been taught that these fragmentations of awareness were a problem for some trauma victims.  Since then, the psychological community has sort of stopped talking about MPD. I think they may have even retired the term, but no matter how it's explained, or what label it's being given from time to time, I do remember that it was very real. There were a few people who would call the line, not remembering having called the night before under a different name.

Of course, I have absolutely no idea what is happening with your dissociative issues, but at the same time I respect the fact that you are struggling with them. My blackouts were always around forgetting that I'd witnessed or been involved in bad car accidents, or of being sexually abused myself.