How to navigate this situation?

Started by Bermuda, February 04, 2021, 09:40:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bermuda

I don't know if this is the correct place to put this.

I have a question. I am studying some foreign languages. I have an assignment I have to do in one of my university courses. It requires be to read a novel in this language and essentially write a book report. Since it's in a difficult language it's highly engaged reading involving lots of translation and such. The problem is the book that has been selected for me includes themes that I find very difficult. It's a suspense/mystery novel.

What do I do? Do I read that book and deal with the consequences? Do I avoid reminders and don't read the book? Do I message the professor and explain why I'm prefer not to do the assignment? Then I have to face her every day looking at me and may possibly be asked to provide "proof".

What do I do?  :'(

Alter-eg0

Yeah, that sucks.

I'd just ask the professor if you could be assigned a different book, because it contains content matter that you're not comfortable with. No need to go into detail, and no reason why the prof would ask for "proof". Honestly, most prof's have better things to do ;) (says me as a teacher).

And if for whatever reason she says no, well, I guess you could see it as an interesting experiment. You already know how to avoid. Maybe an experiment in expanding your window of tolerance, or whatever. I'm sure your creative brain will have some idea's ;)

Good luck.

Blueberry

Quote from: Alter-eg0 on February 04, 2021, 12:54:10 PM
I'd just ask the professor if you could be assigned a different book, because it contains content matter that you're not comfortable with. No need to go into detail
:yeahthat: