Victim Impact Statement

Started by bluepalm, May 10, 2021, 10:50:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bluepalm

Although I usually think of myself as a survivor of what happened to me from infancy onwards, I'm also a retired lawyer and recently a poem came to me in the legalistic form of a victim impact statement.

Victim Impact Statement

You damaged me irretrievably

You stole any possibility of my feeling safe, contented, warmed, loved, wanted, precious

You condemned me to a lifetime of isolation and loneliness

You deprived me of human touch and acceptance

You made me feel I was living in a war zone - hungry, thirsty, frightened

And you did it with malice aforethought

You were evil

Armadillo

Powerful. Thank you for sharing!

Jazzy

That's terrible bluepalm, I'm so sorry you were treated like this, especially intentionally!  :'(

But, I also want to say "good job" on writing out a poem in a way that connects with your life (legalistic form of a victim impact statement). It's really helpful to process this stuff, and writing it out like this is a good way  to accomplish that.

Not Alone

Thank you, Bluepalm. That is impactful to me. I get irritated with people's condemning attitude of "victim mentality." I was a victim and I still consider myself a victim because I continue to suffer from what was done to me.

bluepalm

Thank you Armadillo, jazzy, notalone, for your kind and validating responses to my poem.

Blueberry

Yes, thank you a lot for sharing this, bluepalm. Very meaningful. I'm sorry you had to experience that evil.

Thank you notalone for writing about being a victim. Reading that really helped me in the past couple of days, which I wrote a little about in my Journal.

woodsgnome