I never learned to play with people my own age

Started by Renaissance, June 02, 2021, 04:08:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Renaissance

OK, so before I continue with this subject I need to provide a little background without triggers for others. My CPTSD has a considerable impact on my behaviour in an intimate partner, family and social environment. As one of my T's explained I am extremely competent in a professional environment apart from groups of 3 or more and can function very effectively in the most stressful of work conditions. (think also life and death as a former partner carer for 16 years).

But place me in an environment where you are supposed to have fun, be relaxed and enjoy yourself, well, my sympathetic nervous system is still screaming BEWARE, BEWARE, BEWARE!!

So, I have been receiving treatment for almost 18 months involving a combination of EMDR, body centred psychotherapy and currently in group therapy (which presents my biggest challenge). As some of my early traumas relate to extreme violence and what I can only describe as both physical and mental torture experiences in a group environment.

Today's group therapy involved a drama lesson whereby each member takes on a certain emotion and everyone replicates the same. They call this the emotional bus, sorry but this is all new to me. I had already explained to the group and T's that I would find this difficult to do as this is not a real situation.  And that I would not be able to play the role of a bus driver with people sat behind me.

In real life if I were to get onto a bus I would sit at the back next to or near the emergency exit and where I could see everyone, ready to either react and help or to escape. And if need be fight.