Papa Coco's Journal: Why did I inherit my father's physical war injuries?

Started by Papa Coco, November 21, 2021, 07:17:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Papa Coco

At 14, in 1974, I discovered my torso was deforming. The left side was pushing outward. I wanted girls to like me, so I started lifting weights to build big chest muscles to hide the protruding bone on the left side.

At 19, in 1979, back pain became a problem. Doctors called  it "Scoliosis" and promised I'd need pain killers for life, and would be unable to work by age 40.  They also begged me not to see a chiropractor. I didn't know what a chiropractor was, but their insistence made me curious. So I went to see one. Voila! My pain was handled and I was able to work hard and live free until retirement, and I'm still pain free to this day.

Here's the really FREAKY part:
In 1992, when my son turned 5. My chiropractor recommended we x-ray him to see if he's got what I've got so we could try curing it early while he was still growing. The x-ray was a duplicate of mine, just smaller. The chiropractor said that the twist to the left at the top, the compensating twist at the bottom, the flattened ribs on one side but not the other, and the crooked pelvis were something that showed we were missing our right arms. We were not. Both of us have all our limbs.  He then asked me if I knew what my father's x-ray might look like. I suddenly felt shock. I said "No, but he lost his right arm in the war, 20 years before I was born."  This chiropractor, who thought he'd seen everything, and who usually believed in the unbelievable, was stunned. "Your KIDDING!" He shouted.