Elpha's New Pieces

Started by Elphanigh, December 21, 2021, 07:19:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Elphanigh

I am starting a new journal for what feels like a new part of my journey. Part of why I am calling it "New Pieces", I guess  :Idunno:

It feels like forever and a day since I last wrote in my old journal. Quite frankly there is little about my life that matches that old journal anymore because there have been so many changes over the last six months. I graduated as am MSW, got my licensure and started a job as a full time LMSW therapist, moved states, lost family members, started a healthy new relationship (really enjoying it), restarted intense trauma work, and many other things.

Currently, I am in a very intense piece of trauma work. It has been several months of processing repressed memories and ones that I had but never worked with. Many of the repressed memories have come from between the ages of 2 and 6 which is heartbreaking for me. i have always said the worst of my abuse started at age 6 but in reality it was at age 2. I am now aware of that truth and coming to grips with it. It is tough but I am ever so grateful for my amazing therapist and for the opportunity I have to do such intense work. I get angry, sad, lonely, etc.. but I am more able to hold all of that. It is not easy a lot of days but I am finding my way through it. I recognize that this information and the memories make my life make a lot more sense.. it is painful but explains many things that I didn't have explanations for.