When therapy disturbs the spouse, what to do??

Started by Redwing1972, June 30, 2022, 02:23:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Redwing1972

Hi all...
this post  isn't about therapy per se but how my spouse reacts to what I may be going through at any time. I am the caregiver to my wife who has a number of immune system diseases, but who can still function. I have been doing SE therapy for 4 years now, I am much improved, my nervous system has been reborn, I am so calm and relaxed most of the time it is wonderful. However I have this rather large issue of not being able to feel emotion in my body, only in my head. I cry easily and am empathetic and compassionate. however I am basically numb emotionally from my neck to groin. I have a hard time expressing and receiving love/compliments etc, its a little better, but still pretty blocked.

Anyway, last session I had the  therapist suggested we finally deal with the nasty emotional incest and physical sexual abuse I suffered as a young boy. OK with me, and to prepare myself I started to write a journal around the abuse and read a few books dealing with this...
Spouse has not been too happy around me as I have been totally engrossed by this, as I am hoping that dealing with this will unlock my frozen emotions. Today we had a bit of a chat about it, she gets very lonely and needy when I spend most of my time doing my therapy and not being available.
I am stumped, not sure what to do. I know that on one level part of me feels like the child again living with the shut off parents...
anyway, would appreciate any thoughts, feedback, suggestions...

Redwing

Kizzie

Redwing, so sorry there weren't any replies to your post. Just wanted to pass along that my symptoms have really flared recently and it has been causing issues for my H understandably.  He is going to get a referral from our GP to see a therapist so he has support for the disruption in our relationship.

Perhaps your wife could do the same? 

sanmagic7