New To All This

Started by Searching for Joy, October 20, 2022, 04:53:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Searching for Joy

Triggers !!!!  Be warned please
(Long post as well)

Hello Everyone

I am very new to all this online items.
My history....There was no love in our home, no emotions of love, no show of love, no words of love.  I was always compared to my older siblings, yes I am the youngest by 5 and 6 years.  I was never good enough, never did good enough, and was isolating (now that I can remember parts of my childhood) very early.  I wanted to die when I was in high school.

I ran and by running I mean I sunk myself into schoolwork.  I studied all the time.  In college I studied, studied, studied.  Never met friends nor went to events. However I was disliked by classmates as I "broke the curve".  Once I graduated I ran to many different States away from family. But the demons followed.  So I registered to get my Master's degree.  I worked and studied, worked and studied, worked and studied.  I graduated and had a successful practice.  Demons returned.  I registered to get my doctorate.  I worked and studied, worked and studied, worked and studies and graduated after 18 months.  During these times I went to different counselors and was admitted 4 times.  At a one family session, the counselor ask my parents to let me know that they love me. The couldn't say the words! They couldn't touch me. That was the one and only family session. Back then I was diagnosed as Major Depression and Dysphoric.  No one asked me about my family.  BTW, this was in the 80's and 90's.  I just continued to work and kept busy reading journals and never finding any true friends or relationships.  I continued to move from State to State. Focusing only on my career kept me distracted....now I am learning disassociated if that is correct.