"The sadness wants to be held"

Started by woodsgnome, July 08, 2015, 02:53:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

woodsgnome

I was frantic this morning...my recurring "why is this stuff still happening" thought floated through along with the familiar "will I ever heal" lament.

A little later I wandered onto a web site and found a link about a fresh perspective on healing...so I took a look and it dovetailed with what I needed to hear, to be reminded of, so I thought I'd share it here, where so many of us are searching for that elusive healing...here is the link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cRLKZN1LRFM

Lifecrafting

"By now is the big lie" Wow. Quite the statement!  And a good reminder to me to be gentle with myself, something I am just beginning to understand.

Thanks for sharing woodsgnome.

Dyess

I wish "Jeff" would sit up straight. I couldn't watch for him making my back hurt :)

Cuthberta

I liked what he said; visualise sadness as a little child coming to visit; don't chase her away, just hold her.

That was a good thought.

KayFly

Aww. He is so compassionate and loving. This makes me want to reframe the way I speak to myself in many ways.

I feel like I know that I need to be nice to my inner child when it comes to me with pain, but at times I forget to be nice to that child or "children" as he puts it.  This is a beautiful reminder of that. 

Thank you for sharing the link. Very helpful for the CPTSD Survivor.  Its easy for some of us to forget about our inner child.

Dyess

I've heard many talk about the inner child and inner critic. Does everyone have these? How did you know you did, if you have one?

Dutch Uncle

Quote from: Trace on August 08, 2015, 10:22:10 PM
Does everyone have these?
As in: does every human has these?
I don't know. I guess some people don't, through a pathological cause. (There are people without memory, there are people who cannot recognize faces at all etc. ) But those are "the exception to the rule", I think.