I'm new

Started by tiggerd2, August 21, 2015, 02:23:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tiggerd2

Hi. Today I was diagnosed with CPTSD. I feel as though I'm starting all over again from the very beginning. As probably most, my childhood wasn't healthy or happy. My dad is NP. I'm afraid to look at the rest of my family because I was the reason for everyone's awful life. I married a SP/NP who is a psychotherapist. Luckily he found someone new after about 9 yrs, unfortunately she was his patient at the time.
My brain knows too much because I'm a nurse who works in the medical unit of a psych hospital. I was able to look at things "clinically" and thought it was good enough. This held me for 10 yrs since my divorce. An incident with my dad crashed through my "clinical wall". I guess that was good but I already was hurting and then I realized why. I didn't work through the feelings part. It was easy to shut everyone out of my life. I don't trust my ability to recognize if someone is a safe/nice person. So I'm left without a support system. - except my cat.   
Thank you, I'm ready to learn and grow.

woodsgnome

Hi, tiggerd2,

I've looked at both your posts, and note via your story something I've gone through--I think I reach a certain stage of recovery, walk further down the road, and realize--I left a lot of help back there (like the books you mentioned in your 2nd post), and now I wish I hadn't. And I don't have a support system anymore.

So you've established the "now" starting point. Really, it's what we all have to do, it seems. That may sound like another silly old advice crumb, but I've had to relearn it several times.

Arriving "without a support system", as you say, is more than a tad scary; the "just give up" line tries to lure us over the edge, but then we reach out, and here you are. So--WELCOME.