Feel like I'm 'going mad - inner critic and low self worth

Started by Boatsetsailrose, October 07, 2015, 06:29:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Boatsetsailrose

Hello
Inner critic is driving me insane -
Essentially I know it is 'thinking and the thoughts aren't 'real
It seems to be teaming up with my low self worth and doing 'a very good job' and beating me down -
It's exhausting - I feel lethargic and low

The hardest time is at work - I work in a busy stressful environment as a nurse - many nurses say they don't feel they do a good job - as the environment and lack of staff hinders any feeling of achievement -
People tell me I'm a good nurse - but I don't believe it -
It's the low worth that seems the prob too - also I am on anti dep that impairs my memory and also have chronic sinusitis that gives me head pain and so these things hinder my 'capacity at work'
I am learning about self compassion and as p walker says it is an area that is often vastly lacking for us . Tonight at work I said to myself 'am I trying my best ' and I think I am -

Also started having driving lessons and this is another area ( even though I'm new at it ) that my inner critic is berating me for - should know me - be better - have it Sussed
The evidence is on the second lesson I drove 5 miles and my instructor told me on the 4 th lesson how well I was doing - but still I feel useless - worthless and stupid

Tonight I feel fed up and asking 'will I always feel like this - how is it gonna change ?

The good thing is now I am not fixing on any addictions - I get to see this stuff clearly instead of 'just feeling low ....

I like vanilla

Boatsetsailrose it sounds like you have a lot on your plate.

For me, such stressful times seems to make it easier for my ICr to attack me.