Overeating + resulting health problem = trigger (trigger warning)

Started by lambie, December 04, 2015, 03:52:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lambie

I can't think of a better way to title the thread, and I'm not sure this is the appropriate place for it.  If I've messed up, would the admins please move it?

I am a newbie, and though I've introduced myself, I haven't posted much yet.  Even so, I'm hoping that the group might be able to help me with this.

I have only been diagnosed with PTSD for a few years, but I can't remember a time in my life when I didn't have the symptoms.  My only method of coping with both the original trauma (chronic terrorizing from my FOO starting as a toddler) and the EFs that came later, has been food.  Or at least, it is the only one I knew about.  I was overweight as a child, and I have struggled desperately to break this cycle, but though I've gained and lost, I always gained more for every time I lost, and I've ended up at close to 300 lbs.  Health issues are a terrifying prospect to me, they trigger me because I have been shamed and mocked all my life for my weight, and I have been convinced I was going to be "punished" for it, even though I couldn't seem to stop doing the one thing that would fix it.

Over the last few years, I developed intermittent heart palpitations.  I had them checked once, and was told they were nothing.  They've gotten a little worse, and I have just gotten up the courage to have them checked again.  I got the results today, and found out that while I don't have an acute emergency (I'm not in heart failure) I am on the cusp of pulmonary hypertension, which can eventually lead to right-side heart failure and death if it isn't stopped.