Heading towards integration

Started by obscured, December 10, 2015, 11:19:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

obscured

I have been so confused for decades because of undiagnosed cPTSD/ DIDNOS. I have been working with a great therapist for five years on and off and only recently did she meet one of my emotional personalities which gave her a true insight into how much pain I have been living with. I never let this part of me show his face in her room before a few weeks ago.

After she saw that part of me she explained how my parts are quite seperate. This answered a lot of questions and made it ok to acklowledge my inconsistent reactions, moods and the conversations that go around in my head. I have learnt about the apparently normal personality and the emotional personalities that make up my fragmented sense of self. My aparently normal personality has been the one engaging in therapy most of the time with a few of my other alters occasionally showing up. My really hurt trauma personality hasn't even trusted this therapist and has resisted treatment until now.

For the longest time my aparently normal personality has been trying to pull my four emotional personalities into line, invalidating them and upsetting them along the way. Now I know it is ok to acknowledge that I have entirely different reactions within me to each situation that comes up during my day. I have to take all these points of view and feelings into consideration because they all make up the whole of me.