Inner critic / perfectionism verses real life

Started by Boatsetsailrose, March 11, 2016, 09:22:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Boatsetsailrose

Please help -- head pain
So I work as a nurse on an acute ward which is very busy and complex --
Many nurses say they don't feel they are enough in their job 'good enough'
The thing for me is this is mixed with the inner critic / perfectionist mode so whilst some of the 'your not good enough- your the worst nurse- look you can't do that right blah blah ' head goes on it is actually mixed with some reality of being a nurse in a busy environment with so many things to do / issues going on / information overload. When this all mixes together it's too too much and I can't decifer what is coming from where or how to distangle and get some perspective...
I so want to feel good enough in my job ( or is that even true - maybe it's the perfectionist stuff playing where I actually want to be a great nurse I want to glow and people say 'wow she is a great nurse '
All of this is really driving me down -- I'm actually signed off sick at the moment as I had a collapse mentally and am now back on anti depressants
The obvious solution would be to get out of nursing but after lots of soul searching I don't want to give up my career and actually whatever job I went to if still carry this head with me ...
It's become an obsession now and even though I'm not at work at the moment my head is constantly going over and over all the reasons I'm not a good enough nurse -- and the things I find difficult
I have requested extra support at work through supervision and have gone through occupational health - am also awaiting assessment from psychology
In the mean time any suggestions / people's experiences / help if greatly appreciate --
The fear I feel from this thinking is acute and the feelings of overwhelm and hopelessness --

tesscaline