In the midst of panic

Started by Glenna, August 27, 2014, 05:16:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Glenna

Hello. I was referred here from "Out of the Fog" to maybe find some support. As I write this, I am in the midst of a severe panic attack, so I am grateful for the ability to post at all. Basically, I'm 46 years old and have come to realize that I suffer from CPTSD, although I haven't had a formal diagnosis.

I experienced severe neglect as a child and severe domestic abuse as an adult. I am a writer as well, but when I started to write things about the abuse, my anxiety ramped way up to 100%, and I am considering quitting writing altogether. This makes me sad, as it is my passion. I do not have much of a support system at home, but I was hoping I could find some support here with others who suffer. I will admit that I need some hands to hold on to right now.

I should mention that my ex-husband (abuser) died in a train accident last month. I didn't have direct grief because I hated him, but the situation brought up a bunch of negative feelings that I don't necessarily want to deal with. I am getting therapy, and I am on psychiatric medication, but nothing seems to be controlling this overwhelming anxiety that I'm feeling. It is stopping me from getting things done during the day and causing conflict in my relationships. I know I need help right now, but not sure how to approach it. Thank you for reading.

Kizzie

Hi Glenna and welcome to OOTS.  I hope that writing your first post here helped bring down your panic attack by reaching out for help and support.  We are just a small community right now, but hopefully we can provide you with that.  {{Big hug}} 

I know how the attacks feel as I just went through a really bad patch of them in the spring after a pile on of stressors overwhelmed me. I couldn't even get out of bed some days so the fact that you are here and are able to post speaks to the inner strength you do have.