I know I have C-PTSD, but I have no idea how to get better

Started by reyna54, April 04, 2016, 10:46:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

reyna54

Hello all, this is my first time partaking in any sort of a group like this so forgive me if I am not doing this right. My name is Reyna and I am a 19 year old female. I grew up in an emotionally abusive home, and the abuse began at birth and continued until I was 12. My little sister was sexually abused my our father, and a couple of my therapists believe I was as well but am suppressing it. Regardless, I have developed intense hyper vigilance, severe anxiety, and have frequent disassociation. I was diagnosed with Complex PTSD but the therapist who diagnosed me claimed that he was not confident in his ability to treat me, since my disorder is so new. Now I simply don't know where to go from here. I suppose I could try to find another therapist but I am a psychology major myself, so I am very picky with who treats me. It also makes me very anxious to have to call multiple therapists and make the appointments, and telling someone new my story is always awful. I have read to meditate and exercise but it is so hard to find time for things like that when you are depressed and in school full time as well as employed full time. Please tell me what some of the best methods of treatment you guys have found, any bit of advice helps. My boyfriend of a year insists that I try SOMETHING new, because he is the only one who I have to help me cope with my disorder and I believe that if I don't find a way to heal or a new outlet I might lose the only person who truly loves me. Please give me some advce

Kizzie