Struggling with a work issue

Started by gongfy, August 10, 2016, 03:12:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gongfy

The thing that has me tied up in knots in my work relationships - CPTSD is also the thing that makes me good at what I do.  It's a double edged sword.  So - I'm a teacher.  And I "get" the kids with behavioral issues, the kids who struggle, the kids who aren't successful in other classes.  So - I get the kids.  Year after year.  And this year - again -  I get a whole bunch of them in one class.  Don't get me wrong - I love working with kids who have struggled.  It's an important part of what I do.  But when there are too many of them in one class, I get overwhelmed and I can't help any of them - and it has a huge impact on me and my health.  And then when I complain - I am told that I am "imagining" things and that classes are really placed fairly.  I know that this isn't true - and my principal knows it isn't true - but there isn't really anything I can do about it. 

This year will be the worst year, because the group I am getting are very severe.  So I have asked for a meeting, again, to lay out my case.  I have practiced with my T.  And even that was traumatic because the realization that I can't discuss a conflict without my body going into full "fight mode" was rather frightening to me.  The conscious attention I have to give to slowing my breath and speech, softening my facial muscles, relaxing my body posture, and all while I have to carefully think about delivering a message in a non-threatening way has me wanting to just not go there.  But it's more than just me.  I have this whole class of kids that will be affected too.  Feeling sick to my stomach.

Dutch Uncle

How hard it is to have the job you love be affected by your cPTSD in such a way.  :hug:

Quote from: gongfy on August 10, 2016, 03:12:07 PM