Co-Parenting with a Narcissist and New Relationships during Recovery

Started by Auraclemum, January 21, 2016, 06:05:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Auraclemum

Hello everyone, this is my first post. In fact, I'm very new to CPTSD. I didn't even know what it was, let alone that I had it until a few weeks ago. My therapist diagnosed me and has suggested I go on antidepressants, which I have not purchased yet. Allow me to tell you my story.

I was in an emotionally abusive relationship for 5 years with a narcissist. He broke me. Destroyed my trust, made me crazy, and manipulated me almost to the point of suicide. About this time of year in 2015 - I found that I was bearing his child. Of course, him being a narc was incredibly hard to cooperate through the pregnancy and through a few months time he was already putting me through *. I was under too much stress and it was not healthy for my pregnancy, this was when I put my foot down and escaped him. He was gone for half of my pregnancy and until our daughter was 1 month old. He was not there for her birth, and did not make any effort in being involved whatsoever. I made the mistake of contacting him (though he had made it so I needed to gain closure - telling some people he wanted to be a father and telling others he did not).