1st step - introducing myself

Started by mimiboo, September 12, 2016, 12:53:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mimiboo

Hi all!  This is my first time posting in an online forum (believe it or not, in this day and age)!  I believe I have CPTSD; although my therapist was not aware of the term, the description seems to fit.  I have read Pete Walker's book and am halfway through "The Body Keeps The Score."  I have also read through a lot of the posts on this forum and am learning a ton from hearing others' journeys.

I have to say, I am finding just the act of posting a "hello" message to be anxiety-producing, but I am reaching out because I feel that I need to do so.  I have social anxiety and am hoping that reaching out will help me feel more connected and not so alone.  I have a few friends and can socialize functionally at work, but I find it difficult to get close to people, let people know "the real" me, and feel comfortable around even people with whom I spend a lot of time.  I just feel like something is missing in my relationships with people, you know?

Anyway, I am grateful to have found this website and forum and am looking forward to continuing my own journey of recovery.

sanmagic7

so glad you took the chance and posted!  nope, you're not alone.

i'm a therapist, and it's not uncommon that those in the therapeutic world are ignorant of c-ptsd.  i've been doing this for over 25 years, and never heard of it until i was able to see if for myself in myself.  c-ptsd is not a recognized diagnosis (like ptsd) in the Diagnostic and Statistics Manual (DSM), which is basically the therapist's bible, so it's unfamiliar to many therapists.  that doesn't mean it doesn't exist.  i know it does.  sometimes therapists will use a diagnosis of something like 'developmental trauma disorder' instead of c-ptsd.  i do hope that your therapist will do some research, though, in order to get familiar with the particulars of c-ptsd.