Return to work or not?

Started by Hazy111, October 14, 2016, 07:13:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hazy111

Hi,

I know i have to make my own mind up, but would appreciate some feedback. I know this is difficult as i cant really paint the whole picture objectively as i am affected by my inner and outer critic and i presume massive EFs

I have been off work for a year. The work is stressful and ive been doing it for 12 years. I cant say i enjoy it , but its well paid, with a car and return to work at home after carrying out my inspections. The thing is it is essentially a production line job and everything has to be processed each day, then new work the  next day and so on. I disassociate all the time when im processing the work at home , as i find it so boring and repetitive and it means i work even  longer hours.

The only satisfaction in it is , that i have freedom, as in not tied to an office, or a horrible boss.

So im off with stress , as they started disciplinary action against me and i just couldnt cope with it. I split up with my gf at the same time

They want me to return on a phased return, working less hours slowly building up. But i feel so depressed and stressed.  I feel really ashamed about being off for so long and the reactions of others. I feel shame about not being able to do the job anymore. I know my inner critic.

My T  says my inner child is telling me it doesnt want me to go back and thats the reason ive been so stressed all the time ive been off .

Im fearful and guilty of giving up such a well paid job and i dont really know what to do if i left. I feel id just vegetate and freeze out.

So is it my shame stopping me returning or deep down i dont want to do it anymore. I cant make my mind up.

Its driving me crazy and they are arranging my work for next week as they think im returning. But i can barely get up at the moment

Feel free to comment!!

Blossoming