Hello, I'm new . . .

Started by alliematt, October 15, 2016, 02:49:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alliematt

Like Creative23 below, I started out in OOTF.  This might be more the forum I need, and I appreciate the guidance from the OTOF moderator.  My nom de plume here is Alliematt.

I'm not sure if I have C-PTSD.  I do believe I've been in situations that are conducive to it.  I was bullied as a child, from first to twelfth grade, and although some teachers and my parents did try to help at times, the bullying never stopped. 

In college, I got involved with a cult.  That sentence is very hard for me to write.  The church I was involved with was an offshoot of a more mainstream denomination.  I learned a lot of good things there, but left believing that I just couldn't measure up to God's expectations.  When I graduated from college, I went to a church that had been part of the "offshoot group" but that was deliberately trying to get away from the unhealthy teachings . . . and they wound up going in the opposite direction, to the point where you could believe almost what you wanted to.  I finally told my husband, we need to get out.

We're in a decent church now, but I am having a lot of trouble getting past the stuff that happened there.

At present, I'm dealing with a lot of stresssful circumstances.   :fallingbricks: (This emoticon sums it up.)  I have several chronic health conditions.  I'm trying to pay back student loans from a failed attempt at school.  My teenager has autism, and although he's a good kid and pretty high-functioning, I can only take so much of his obsessions with certain TV programs.  My mother has also developed health problems--mostly memory and cognition--and tomorrow's my birthday and I don't expect to hear from her.  She lives in another state and I don't get to see her very often.