Husband Making CPTSD worse...

Started by JillStJohn, January 15, 2017, 01:53:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JillStJohn

I have C-PTSD from childhood emotional and physical abuse. I'm really self-aware and I know this about myself.  I've been to lots of therapists and I am a therapist.  I know what my triggers are- people being angry, screaming, violence, aggression.  My problem is my husband of 12 years keeps triggering me. It mainly happens when our two kids are involved. He gets really angry and yells at them. Or He just getting into arguments with them. The other day it was him making fun of our son.   I have explained what this does to me, that it's a trigger, that I can't help react. It's just who I am. I've tried to work on it. But I become upset when he does this.  I asked him why he did this. I tell him to stop.  I reminded him that we agreed he wouldn't do this. I need him to understand that I am triggered and try to help me. Instead he just yells at me and tells me I'm critical and controlling.  Argues with me. This just spirals everything.  Because I need him to understand me, why I am upset. I need him to realize I'm triggered and to help me through it. I needed to be supported. But he's just the opposite. And it just escalates .  So I'm just crying in the bathroom, having flashbacks for an hour. He doesn't even come in. Or if he has come in the past, he needs to understand his anger/reaction has made him the enemy. I am having an episode and scream "get away from me!" He scurries away. So much for understanding CPTSD and calmly/quietly trying to be emotionally supportive. I can just never be triggered and have him love me.  I can't be triggered and have him understand and help me.  Believe me, I've explained this to him hundreds of times and he just doesn't get it.  We''be  had couples therapy a lot and they try to explain this to him.  I just don't know what else to do. He just blames me and thinks I am a jerk when I am triggered. I just want to