CLOSED - Online Learning Study at OOTS

Started by Kizzie, January 27, 2017, 07:07:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kizzie

As some of you may know I am a university professor at a university in Canada. I teach and supervise graduate students in the Masters of Adult Education program.  I am also involved in research as part of my employment and have chosen to investigate learning in online self-help forums such as OOTS together with the Dean of my Faculty, Dr. Rita Kop.  The title of our research proposal  is "It's Not Just about Support: Self-directed Learning in an Online Self-help Group."

The purpose of this research study is to investigate the nature and purpose of informal, self-directed learning (SDL) in an online self-help group in order to provide information to others (i.e., sufferers, professionals) who may want to develop and/or improve self-directed learning about a disorder/disease at an online self-help site. The data will also be used to improve learning at Out of the Storm (OOTS) specifically.                 

Participation will involve the completion of an anonymous online questionnaire which will take between 30 and 60 minutes to complete.  The questionnaire will provide data regarding:  your experience with Complex PTSD (e.g., diagnosis, causes, symptoms); what you have learned at OOTS; and, what you would like to learn at OOTS. 

If you are interested in participating please go to https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/OOTSLearningSurvey.   There is additional information about the study there.   Study is closed.

Note: In order to ensure this research is conducted in an ethical manner, we have taken measures to preserve your anonymity.  First, the questionnaire is completely anonymous. Second, any communication about the study should be directed  to my colleague as follows:

Dr. Rita Kop - Telephone: 506 454-1220 #1379;  Fax: 506-459-3489; or, Email: rkop@yorkvilleu.ca